TIME TO CELEBRATE Which country has New Year first and who celebrates it last? Times around the world


It’s possible to get a quick flight between two locations so you count down to 2018 twice..

AS December 31 approaches, the world is preparing to come together and welcome 2018.

But obviously, the New Year arrives at different times for different countries across the world. So which country will enter 2018 before any other and where does the New Year arrive last?


When will other countries around the world celebrate the New Year in relation to the UK?

Which country celebrates New Year first?

Fireworks exploding over Sydney harbour symbolises the start of global New Year’s festivities for most Brits.

But it may surprise you to hear that Australia is not the first country in the world to welcome the New Year.

The tiny Pacific island of Tonga will ring in 2018 at 10am GMT on December 31 – a full three hours before it reaches Down Under.

Where will 2018 arrive last?

After travelling all around the world, the New Year will eventually come full circle – or near enough.

The last place or places to receive 2018 will be the tiny outlying islands of the US.

Baker Island and Howland Island will greet the New Year at 12 Midday on January 1 – or at least they would if any people lived there.

Second last will be American Samoa at 11am – just 558 miles from Tonga, where locals and visitors were celebrating a full 25 hours before.

It’s therefore possible to get a quick flight in between the two and count down to 2018 twice.

What time does New Year arrive around the world?

Using London time, this is when the world will welcome in 2018:

  • Sat 10:00              Tonga and two more
  • Sat 11:00              New Zealand
  • Sat 13:00-15:15  Australia
  • Sat 15:00              Japan & South Korea
  • Sat 15:30              North Korea
  • Sat 16:00              China, Philippines, Singapore
  • Sat 17:00              Most of Indonesia
  • Sat 17:30              Myanmar and Cocos Islands
  • Sat 18:00              Bangladesh
  • Sat 18:15              Nepal
  • Sat 18:30              India and Sri Lanka
  • Sat 19:00              Pakistan
  • Sat 19:30              Afghanistan
  • Sat 20:00              Azerbaijan
  • Sat 20:30              Iran
  • Sat 21:00              Moscow/Russia
  • Sat 22:00              Greece
  • Sat 23:00              Germany
  • Sun 00:00             United Kingdom
  • Sun 02-3:00         Brazil
  • Sun 03:00             Argentina, Paraguay
  • Sun 03:30-8:00   USA, Canada
  • Sun 09:00             Alaska
  • Sun 10:00             Hawaii
  • Sun 11:00             American Samoa
  • Sun 12:00             US outlying islands (Baker Island, Howland Island etc